Boatpeople

Installation, Graphics, Photography (ongoing)

Margret Kohler-Heilingsetzer started 2006 with ship/boat installations, with print-graphic, drawing, expressive terracotta-passengers who are constantly growing in numbers. Each of the by now over 1000 heads has an individual character, draws attention within the crowd of different ethnicities

Since the 1990s, the artist, inspired by several visits to Mexico and Peru, has been studying outer-European indigenous cultures, which inspired her to create small terracotta heads – an ongoing project since the year 2000.
Her fascination with the sea, with beaches and tides, captured in photographs and graphics, led Margret Kohler-Heilingsetzer to the coasts of Spain, Mexico and, above all, Italy, where she was exposed to the fate of ‘boat people’, migration and asylum policy.

The “Boat People Installation” 2017 uses the bow of the white ship first presented at the Künstlerhaus in 2006. It is the beginning of an ongoing project, dedicated to Euro¬pean migration politics, especially that concerning “boat people”. Until 2015, nine installations of different kinds of boats were constructed in Austria, Germany, Spain and Italy. The artist uses the vessel as metaphor for common fate, escape, departure and illusions of a better life also in her prints. During the last years she has collected headlines, articles and photos from the print-media on this issue for collages on the first ship. “Departure and Arrival”, borders and the “Fortress Europe” are also themes of the graphic-print series and the offset-print collages.

Graphic series

© 2018 A MarketPress.com Theme

Boatpeople

Installationen, Graphik, Photographie (ongoing)

2006 begann Margret Kohler-Heilingsetzer mit Schiffs-/Bootsinstallationen, deren ausdrucksstarke Terrakotta-Passagiere stetig erweitert werden. Jeder der mittlerweile über 1000 Köpfe hat einen individuellen Charakter, zieht in der Menge der verschiedenen Ethnien Blicke auf sich.

Angeregt durch Aufenthalte in Mexiko und Peru beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin seit den 90er Jahren mit außereuropäischen indigenen Kulturen, die sie zur Herstellung von kleinen Terrakotta-Köpfen inspirierten, ein ongoing-project seit dem Jahr 2000.
Die Faszination mit dem Meer, mit Stränden und Gezeiten, thematisiert in Fotografien und Grafiken, führte die Künstlerin zu den Küsten Spaniens, Mexikos sowie vor allem Italiens und natürlich zu einer Konfrontation mit den Schicksalen der ‚boat people‘ und zu der Auseinandersetzung mit Migration und Asylpolitik.

Die Installation „Boatpeople“ 2017 verwendet den Bug des weißen Schiffes, welches 2006 erstmals im Künstlerhaus präsentiert wurde. Dies war der Beginn des work in progress-Projekts, das der europäischen Flüchtlingspolitik, insbesondere die „Boatpeople“ betreffend, gewidmet ist. Bis 2015 folgten neun weitere Installationen in Österreich, Deutschland, Spanien und Italien auf jeweils unterschiedlichen Booten. Die Künstlerin verwendet das Schiff als Symbol und Metapher für Flucht, Aufbruch und Illusion einer besseren Zukunft. Der ursprüngliche Schiffskörper wurde seit 2010 zum Träger von Zeitungs¬meldungen, Fluchtgründen und sich wiederholenden Headlines. Aufbruch, Flucht und Ankunft, Grenzen und die „Festung Europa“ sind auch Themen der Druckgraphikserien des Projekts und der Serie “Departure-Arrival“ mit collagierten Offset-Drucken.

Grafikserien

© 2018 Ein MarketPress.com Theme